National Online Recruitment Awards, NORA – how does it look like in UK?

In Ireland we have our NRF that gives awards to the recruitment agencies (NRF members only) and within those there is an Award for the Best Recruitment Web Site.

Then we have the Golden Spiders awards that again one has to pay €150 per site to get ‘Nominated’, so the real good work of start-ups is never seen there. Recruiters actually rarely feature there at all with the exception of national job boards that use it for branding.

UK has National Online Recruitment Awards – NORA. In 5 days NORA will be announcing the winner in the long list of categories. Here is a full list of categories and 5 shortlisted candidates for the awards in 2011.

The Finalists for the National Online Recruitment Awards 2011 are as follows:

 

Best Generalist Job Board
Jobserve http://jobserve.com
Jobsite http://Jobsite.co.uk
Monster http://monster.co.uk
Reed http://reed.co.uk
Totaljobs http://totaljobs.co.uk
Best Specialist / Niche Job Board
Gradcracker http://gradcracker.com
Women in Technology http://womenintechnology.co.uk
British Medical Jobs http://www.britishmedicaljobs.com/
Creative Pool http://creativepool.co.uk
Jobsgopublic http://Jobsgopublic.com
Only Marketing Jobs http://onlymarketingjobs.com
Prospects.ac.uk http://www.prospects.ac.uk
Executives on the Web http://executivesontheweb.com
Best Regional Job Board
Brighton and Hove Jobs http://brightonandhovejobs.com
Graduates Yorkshire http://graduatesyorkshire.co.uk
NI Jobfinder http://nijobfinder.co.uk
S1 Jobs http://s1jobs.com
STV Jobs http://jobs.stv.tv
Best National Recruitment Agency
Manpower http://www.manpower.co.uk
Laurence Simons http://laurencesimons.co.uk
Office Angels http://OfficeAngels.co.uk
Randstad http://randstad.co.uk
Spencer Ogden http://spencer-ogden.com
Best Small Recruitment Agency
Dylan http://www.wearedylan.com/
Heat Recruitment http://www.heatrecruitment.co.uk
Aspire People http://aspirepeople.co.uk/
Lipton Fleming http://liptonfleming.co.uk
CK Clinical http://CKClinical.co.uk
Detail 2 Retail http://detail2retail.com
McCarthy Recruitment http://mccarthyrecruitment.com
Paramount Recruitment http://paramountrecruitment.co.uk
Best Major Employer
Army Jobs http://armyjobs.mod.uk
BBC http://bbc.co.uk/jobs
G4S http://careers.g4s.com/
LV Liverpool Vistoria http://jobs.lv.com
Nestle http://nestlecareers.co.uk
Best Small Employer
Advanced Resource Managers http://arm.jobs
Breakthrough http://breakthrough.org.uk/jobs/index.html
Fairbridge http://fairbridge.org.uk
Innocent Drinks http://innocentdrinks.co.uk/careers
GCS http://join.gcsltd.com
Best Consumer Publication
Guardian Careers http://guardiancareers.co.uk
Herald Scotland http://heraldscotland.com/services/jobs
Express and Star http://jobs.expressandstar.com
Telegraph http://jobs.telegraph.co.uk
Manchester Evening News http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/jobs/
Best Trade Publication
Electronics Weekly http://electronicsweekly.com/Home
The Grocer http://jobs.thegrocer.co.uk
Personnel Today http://www.personneltoday.com/jobs/default2.aspx
Retail Week http://retail-week.com/careers
Times Educational Supplement http://tes.co.uk
Best Recruitment Advice Website
ACAS http://www.acas.org.uk
All About Careers http://allaboutcareers.com
Monster http://career-advice.monster.co.uk
CareerPlayer.com http://careerplayer.com
CareersAdvice.direct.gov.uk https://nextstep.direct.gov.uk
Best Newcomer
G4s http://careers.g4s.com/
HireMatch.me http://www.hirematch.me/
MoveMeOn www.movemeon.com
Nestle Careers iPad App http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/nestlecareers-hd/id451966082?mt=8&ls=1
Innovate CV
www.innovatecv.com
Best Innovation
BeKnown http://beknown.com
HireMatch.me http://www.hirematch.me/
Nestle Careers iPad App http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/nestlecareers-hd/id451966082?mt=8&ls=1
Wikijob http://www.wikijob.co.uk
G4s http://careers.g4s.com/

Advertised jobs numbers comparison

Here is a list of jobs advertised on the leading Irish job sites and the recruitment agency web sites.

Job Boards
Irish Jobs 12253
Recruit Ireland 3350
Monster 2969
Jobs 2800
Irish Times 1883
Employ Ireland 1339

Recruitment Agencies
CPL 1340
Brightwater 1291
Morgan McKinley 1178
Sigmar 671
Stelfox 627
Grafton 228
Manpower 183

Irish Jobs has by far the largest number of jobs. Actually they have about 10 times more jobs than the average competing Irish job site. Is there really that much jobs? Is that a real success story? When the numbers are so much off the scale, it always stinks a bit. Especially knowing that they own the Jobs.ie site that does so badly on the jobs numbers compared to the main site.

On the recruitment agency side there is a tight race at the top. CPL still has it top spot, while surprisingly a small company Brightwater is in second. They show more jobs on their site than a much larger company Morgan McKinley that is on the third spot. Are Brightwater really working as Busy Bees? Are they really filling 5 times more roles than companies like Grafton or Manpower? Again quite unlikely. Same as Irish Jobs web site above, the number are again just very off the chart.

National Recruitment Federation Winners 2010

NRF 2010 Winners

Picture says more than words…

NRF RECRUITMENT INDUSTRY AWARDS 2010

AWARDS CATEGORIES

1. BEST AGENCY ONLINE SERVICE – Robert Walters

2. RECRUITMENT CONSULTANT OF THE YEAR – Hazel Whelan (Recruitment Plus)

3. BEST IN PRACTICE – HEALTHCARE – Locumlink

4. BEST IN PRACTICE – ACCOUNTING & FINANCE – Sigmar

5. BEST IN PRACTICE – OFFICE & SECRETARIAL – CPL Resources Plc

6. BEST IN PRACTICE – IT & TELECOMS – Vantage Resources

7. BEST IN PRACTICE – HOTEL & CATERING – Noel Recruitment

8. BEST IN PRATICE – LIGHT INDUSTRIAL – Flexsource

9. BEST IN PRACTICE- SALES & MARKETING – Sigmar

10. BEST IN PRACTICE – TECHNICAL ENGINEERING & SCIENCE – CPL Resources Plc

11. AGENCY OF THE YEAR – SMALL – Recruitment Plus

12. AGENCY OF THE YEAR – LARGE – CPL Resources Plc

Read the full review on Jobs Market.

Recruitment RoadShow 2009

After the really successful and well received Recruitment RoadShow 2008 presented in the number of the Irish recruitment agencies, this 2009 started early in January. It was all well until today. In January I did the presentations that included from the basic multiple job posting tips and tricks, to the advanced candidate filtering based on the quality of the web site traffic driven from Google.ie. I also presented in both multinationals like Manpower and a number of the start-ups. It was interesting how different teams took the same presentation completely differently, so I had to customize it to make sure everyone gets the most out of it.

The second day of February, and it all went wrong! Why? Well, I couldn’t get my car uphill to get out of the estate. We have been completely snowed in! I really wasn’t so sure how will the client receive the excuse, but fortunately most of their staff had the same problem, so it went down well. To be honest, I was a bit afraid it is not the excuse one would find really believable in Dublin!

Picture from the Recruitment RoadShow 2009:

Language Recruitment Fair

Looking for a job using your language skills?

Gresham Hotel, O’Connell Street, Dublin 1
Friday, 4th April 2008: 10.00 – 17.00
Saturday, 5th April 2008: 10.00 – 17:00

Then come and join us at the Language Recruitment Fair in Dublin, the largest and most exciting exhibition of its kind dedicated to language recruitment.

If you are a bilingual or multi-lingual speaker and you are interested in finding a great job that meets your skills this is a “must see” event!!

Why you should not miss the Language Recruitment Fair…
The fair showcases many national & international companies and organisations that are interested in recruiting people with language skills.
You will be able to meet many employers under one roof, saving you time and energy when looking for your new job!
You will be able to talk to leading employers Face-to-Face and discuss a wide range of employment opportunities in Ireland
Companies will be conducting interviews hoping to hire staff at the event
Bring your CV! so you can be interviewed and even get a job before you leave the fair
Recruitment professionals will be on hand to give you free advice about your CV and all other aspects to help you find your perfect job.

The Language Recruitment Fair will target candidates seeking multi-lingual positions in Customer Service, Shared Service & Finance, IT, Sales, Marketing and Translation attracting leading international companies over the two days.

Companies exhibiting include:
Accenture
Alienware
Canada Life
Cook
Cpl
EMC
Gem
IBM
Manpower
Sportingbet
VMware

Opening times for the fair: Fri. 4th April: 10.00 – 17.00
Sat. 5th April: 10.00 – 17:00

Recruitment Agencies in Ireland

How many Recruitment Agencies are there in Ireland really?